Viewing Options


Lake District 6 Peaks

Loading Map....

Lake District 6 Peaks / Buttermere Horseshoe

Innominate Tarn looking towards Green Gable and Great GableThe Buttermere Horseshoe comprises 6 Lakeland Peaks and is a high level circuit around arguably the finest valley in England with its summits in close configuration. This is a strenuous walk that presents no technical difficulties. It starts and ends at the village of Buttermere, which is situated on the shores of the lake with the same name.

On a clear day there are stunning views from the delightfully crafted summit cairn at Dale Head towards Blencathra, Skiddaw and the fells around Newlands Valley.

This stunning challenge is best appreciated in the spring / summer months when the route includes spectacular views along its western leg including the High Stile Range and Haystacks and a spectacular sunset over Red Pike as you complete the eastern leg of the circuit.

For much more information and alternative Lake District challenges click here

Date(s) - 16/04/2016 - 17/04/2016
All Day

Lake District

United Kingdom

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

Print this page

Print page